top of page

Girl & The Wild West Of Web 3

WTF is an NFT? Why do they matter? Are you investing in Bitcoin? Is it all just a scam or is it here to stay?


Yepppp my thoughts exactly! Not to worry though, IT’S NOT TOO LATE! Don’t FOMO just yet ;)


Over the past 10 months, I ventured into the wild west of web 3. My boyfriend had been blabbing about the metaverse and cryptocurrency for over a year, but I didn’t really pay attention. Nor did I think it would affect me. Or that I’d have a say about what the metaverse could look like for myself as a woman.


It wasn’t until Gary Vaynerchuk a.k.a. GaryVee went on his Instagram Stories and begged his followers to trust him and to purchase some Ethereum. Something he was creating was going to be revealed, but if you want access, you need ETH.


I remember freaking out and asking my boyfriend: WTF is Ethereum? And how do I buy some?


Yes, I love GaryVee. Whatever he says I do.


Work hard, stay humble and be patient. I’m doing it Gary!


So, I bought ETH back in April 2021. And I waited…or HODL ;)


Yet, even when GaryVee launched his NFT collection VeeFriends, I couldn’t quite understand how NFTs could impact me. But I knew that if GaryVee was creating NFTs (spending millions of dollars) then it must be something of value. I started questioning the man.


I won’t lie, GaryVee onboarded me to crypto.



Of course, I had lots of exposure from my boyfriend who helped me start a digital wallet. I could not have done it without his support and encouragement.


However, even with Gary’s wise words and my boyfriend already invested into crypto, I still wasn’t clear about web3, so I kept digging and continued doing my research.


Again, none of this information is to be used as investment advice. Also, remember that you should never put in money that you can’t afford to lose, and that amount is different for different people.


What about Bitcoin?


Yes, I also took the plunge and bought my first Bitcoin.


Alright, given the current coin price, I didn't buy a full Bitcoin. I bought a small fraction of a coin.


It wasn’t until October 2021 when Mark Zuckerberg announced he was changing his company name to Meta Platforms Inc. (a.k.a. Facebook) that I started questioning his vision for working and playing in a virtual world.


What does Mark Zuckerberg know that I don’t?



Zuckerberg explained the name change as the “metaverse” where we will connect with family and friends. “We believe the metaverse will be the successor to the mobile internet,” Zuckerberg said.


Perhaps I shouldn’t have been surprised that virtual meetings would not go away so quickly. In fact, COVID-19 probably accelerated existing trends for remote work, virtual meetings, e-commerce and automation. Yes, I believe it is all here to stay.


Naturally I ventured into Zuckerberg’s virtual platform. Curious enough I put an Oculus Quest 2 from Meta and mingled with an array of people…


That is when the Girl in the Verse took her most exciting trip yet… into the meta.


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page