top of page

I want to travel, but where do I start?

It seems weird to say this, but travel is the new “it thing.”


Everything online is about cool countries to visit, luxurious hotels, great experiences and… don’t get me started with Instagram. An app that makes some of us envious— like whatever you’re doing isn’t as awesome as sipping a fruity cocktail in Bali.


I believe travel or having time-off is the key to happy employees.


In fact, in 2016, a FlexJobs survey suggested that millennials are more interested in travel and work flexibility.


  • Seventy percent of millennials say the desire to travel is a primary reason to work

  • 5% of them identified themselves as digital nomads.

Just before leaving on the greatest adventure ever!

Not only are young people saying “I want to travel the world," but they are saying “I want to make money while travelling”.


The thing is, so many of us don’t know where to start. Maybe you don’t think you can. Or that you might not be able to afford it. Maybe you just can’t leave all your commitments at home.


Whatever the reason, I’ve created this tiny step-by-step guide to help you venture off into this big beautiful world!


Decide where you want to go.


Most people want to travel, but never decide where exactly they want to go.


Deciding on a set place or country will help you figure out how much money you need, how many days and what you need to bring with you.


You need a set goal.


If you keep saying “I want to go to Europe”, instead of saying “I want to go to France” or better “Paris”, you’ll feel overwhelmed and probably get discouraged so you won’t end up setting a defined goal to work toward.


Time to look at your atlas now!

Getting around in a motorbike in Laos.

Backpacking VS luxury travel


For many travelers, deciding how you wish to travel will depend on budget and preference.


If you’ve had to save money all year to pay for a flight, then you’re probably considering travelling with a backpack and sleeping in hostels.


If you prefer a more luxurious hotel and you have the money, then you might look for something more high end or all-inclusive deals.


There are also those people who could perhaps sometimes afford an occasional hotel stay but prefer the experience of backpacking and exploring at a more grassroots level. (This will take more time in one place though). Whatever your preference you’ll need to decide what type of travelling you feel like doing.


Travel for a living.


I did it and you can too! Work exchanges such as Workaway and HelpX may be the solution.


Websites like these can actually make travelling fun and really cheap! Basically you’re swapping your skills for a bed abroad—WINNING!


I worked on organic farms in New Zealand and Australia. It’s a great way to travel through a local’s eyes while on a budget.


How does it work?


Generally, you are a volunteer and your host does not pay the traveller a wage (salary) for the use of their time, skills and experience. You are usually asked to work between 5-6 hours daily in exchange for food and accommodation. The work depends on the families and the time of year.

Seeding and planting trees in New Zealand.

In New Zealand and Australia I worked on farms, setting up a veggie patch, weeding, pruning, planting pumpkins (all of which was new to me!) In Spain and France, I got to use my communications and social skills and helped small hotel owners optimize their presence online.


Listen to your heart.


Stop questioning, Stop listening to everyone. Stop wondering what could be.


Like everyone, I was taught to go to school, get a job, get married, buy a house, have kids and maybe see the world when I retire.


There will always be people who will try to bring you down because they fear your dream is too big.


Don’t let anyone tell you you can’t do something.

Walking around Pourrain, France.

I always wanted to travel.


Everyone told me it would be expensive. That I should focus on my career. That my priorities weren’t at the right place.


But that little core desire feeling I had to buy a plane ticket was stronger than all the skeptics trying to convince me this was a bad idea.


What happens when you get off the plane? You find a place to sleep (if you haven’t already) and get food.


I’m not trying to state the obvious. But, that's really what you do.


And then, after that, you start to look around your new surroundings and experience the things you wanted to see.


It's not as scary and way more fun than you can imagine.


ONE LAST THING…


You should know that things won’t always go as planned. But do it anyways. Take a chance on you.

0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page