top of page

Why I quit a job I loved to travel?

I figured out what I wanted to be when I grew up at 19 years old.

Call it luck, faith or being at the right place at the right time...

I was in college during exam period studying in the library when the only cubicle left was a dirty one— a bunch of old newspapers piled up on the desk... I picked one up and saw an ad inviting students to join the student newspaper for credits. BINGO! I joined and the rest was history.

I wanted to be a journalist.

I went to University and got my BA. I then got a job in radio and then television, but had to leave the city and moved to the countryside. (That’s another story.) But I didn’t care. I loved my job.

But after 3 years, I felt like I was living on autopilot.
Gazing at the red sand dunes in Mui Ne, Vietnam.

Pure survival mode in a remote area— A Quebec region called Abitibi-Temiscamingue. I had met a guy and he quickly became my boyfriend. But I remember telling him “I can’t keep living like this.” Winter was long and cold and summer was warm with angry mosquitoes sucking up all the blood on my legs.

It wasn't a good look for me.


I always loved travelling. I thought my job would allow me to travel. But being an international reporter wasn’t in the books for me. And every time I had days off I’d drive 8 hours to Montreal to see family and friends and enjoy a bit of the city nightlife.

At one point, I couldn’t wait for my well deserved 2-week vacation. My boss refused to give me a promotion and I wasn’t getting any jobs in the city.

I was craving for something different, new, exciting whatever it was I wanted, I knew it couldn’t be where I was.

I was miserable, unhappy and felt unfulfilled.

I loved my job. I loved what I was doing. But it wasn’t enough.

I remember thinking “I don’t belong here. This can’t be it for me.”

So I decided to quit my job, sell everything in my apartment and travel.

One of the best life-changing experiences in my life.

And today, I’m back in Montreal doing everything I love.

Have you ever felt stuck in your career?


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page