top of page

Your Story Matters

I spent most of my life telling everyone else’s story but mine.


I didn’t want it.


I didn’t want it to be mine.


Because my story was going to change and I was going to be perfect.


Instead, perfect never came.


I quickly realized my story wasn’t necessarily about struggle like the stories from immigrant families moving to Canada.


My story wasn’t about trauma like the kind you hear about a mother getting abused by her husband.


My story wasn’t about survival like the kids I met in India who would sell you anything just so they would have enough rupees to buy a lollipop.


My story wasn’t about health like the girl who has cancer and can’t leave her hospital bed to play with other kids at the park.


My story is about starting messy. Damn you sucky Day 1!


My story is about having the courage to say “I want more than this.”


My story is about resilience, compassion, hope, courage, failure, happiness.


This is why my story matters.


This is why you story does too.


We tell stories.


That is how we connect and grow and live.

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page